Meeting author Peter Hessler in Portland and preparing for a visit to Wacom China Corp

I am preparing to go to China on October 15 for my exchange with Wacom China Corporation. Recently I met Peter Hessler, staff writer for The New Yorker and author of three books about China. I am a member of the Portland-Suzhou Sister City Committee and at our September meeting I was asked to meet Peter at the airport and give him a ride to his hotel in Portland where he was giving a keynote at a transportation conference. I enjoyed reading his two earlier books River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze and Oracle Bones: A Journey Between China’s Past and Present. His latest book Country Driving: A Journey Through China from Farm to Factory was just recently published and I was delighted that he autographed my copy in English and in Chinese!

This entry was posted in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

